You have a say

Public power gives you a voice. You have a say in PUD policy-setting much like the stockholder of a private corporation. Grant PUD has a five-member board of commissioners made up of local citizens elected on a nonpartisan basis by the people of Grant County. The commissioners meet twice monthly to set policy, review operations and approve budget expenditures.

District Boundaries

Commissioners each represent a defined area of the county. Two commissioners-at-large each serve four-year terms. The remaining three commissioners serve six-year terms. The terms are staggered so that two members of the board are elected every two years.

comiss TomFlint
Tom Flint

A-At Large

Commissioner Flint was elected to his first four-year term on the board in the fall of 2000. He is a fifth-generation farmer actively farming in Grant County. As founder and director for AgFarmation, he is a grassroots activist and director of the Blacksands Irrigation District and the Columbia Basin Development League. Commissioner Flint has a BA in industrial technology from Central Washington University.

TERM EXPIRATION: December 2020

comiss LarrySchappman
Larry Schaapman

Vice President
District #3

Commissioner Schaapman was appointed to fill a vacancy on the commission in 2012 and successfully ran for a six-year term in 2013. He has been a resident of Grant County for 40 years and has operated several businesses in the area during that time. He currently owns and manages a family farm in the Quincy area and served on numerous agricultural boards in the region, including the Washington State Farm Bureau. Schaapman currently sits on the Potato Growers of Washington Board.

TERM EXPIRATION: December 2020

comiss JudyWilson
Judy Wilson

District #1

Commissioner Wilson was elected to her first six-year term on the board in the fall of 2018.

TERM EXPIRATION: December 2024

comiss NelsonCox
Nelson Cox

B-At Large

Commissioner Cox was elected to his first four-year term on the board in the fall of 2018. He is a lifetime resident of Warden and has actively operated his family farm for more than 45 years. Commissioner Cox has been a part of various local community groups of boards. He also represented the agriculture industry through his service within state and national organizations.

TERM EXPIRATION: December 2022

comiss DaleWalker
Dale Walker

District #2

Commissioner Walker was elected to his first six-year term in the fall of 2010. He is a 57-year resident of Grant County, having been actively involved in agriculture and agriculture research. His family was involved in the development of the Columbia Basin Project. Commissioner Walker has served local, state and national organizations representing the agricultural industry.

TERM EXPIRATION: December 2022


You’re always invited.

Commission meetings are open public meetings. The public is encouraged to attend. Grant PUD commissioners usually meet the second and fourth Tuesdays at Grant PUD headquarters, 30 C Street SW, Ephrata. (Currently being held virtually until further notice.) Confirm the date, location and time of upcoming meetings at the link below. Contact the commissioners directly at commissioners@grantpud.org or call the clerk of the board at 509-793-1457.


Who We Are
logo icon gray