A Board of Commissioners comprised of local citizens elected on a non-partisan basis sets policy for the utility. Commissioners each represent a defined area of the county. Two commissioners-at-large each serve four-year terms. The remaining three commissioners serve six year terms. The terms are staggered so that two members of the board are elected every two years.

Commissioner District Boundaries

Terry Brewer, President, District #1

Commissioner Brewer was elected to the Grant PUD Commission in 2006.  He has over 30 years of experience in the electric utility industry.  He served as Executive Director of the Grant County Economic Development Council for 15 years where he worked to retain and expand numerous local businesses and recruited several large businesses to Grant County.  He presently serves as Grant PUD's appointed board member at Energy Northwest, the owner/operator of the only nuclear power plant in Washington.

Term expiration: December 2018

Bob Bernd, Vice President, B-At Large

Commissioner Bernd joined the commission in January of 2007. A Grant County native, he is retired from a career in moving and storage, waste disposal and recycling. Commissioner Bernd is a graduate of Washington State University and holds a degree in business management. He served 26 years on the Moses Lake Planning Commission, is a board member and former chair for the Boys and Girls Club of the Columbia Basin, former board member and chair of the Grant County Housing Authority and past president and member of the Moses Lake Lions Club.

Term expiration: December 2018

Dale Walker, Secretary, District #2

Commissioner Walker was elected to the commission in the fall of 2010. He is a 57-year resident of Grant County having been actively involved in agriculture and agriculture research. His family was involved in the development of the Columbia Basin Project. Commissioner Walker has served local, state and national organizations representing the agricultural industry.

Term expiration: December 2022

Tom Flint, Commissioner, A-At Large

Commissioner Flint joined the commission after being elected to the board in the fall of 2000. He is a fifth generation farmer actively farming in Grant County. As founder and director for AgFarmation, he is a grassroots activist and Director of the Blacksands Irrigation District and the Columbia Basin Development League. Commissioner Flint has a BA in industrial technology from Central Washington University.

Term expiration: December 2020

Larry Schaapman, Commissioner, District #3

Commissioner Schaapman, appointed to the commission in 2012, has been a resident of Grant County for 40 years and has operated several businesses in the area during that time. He currently owns and manages a family farm in the Quincy area, and served on numerous agricultural boards in the region including the Washington State Farm Bureau. Schaapman currently sits on the Potato Growers of Washington Board.  

Term expiration: December 2020